News-CRUX-10     3rd July 2024        

Context: India's External Affairs Minister will lead the Indian delegation at the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Council of Heads of State, representing the country in place of the Prime Minister.

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

  • About: It is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation of Eurasian Nations with a secretariat in Beijing.
  • Formation: 15 June 2001 by the leaders of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.
  • Members: China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Iran and Uzbekistan.

oIran became a full member in 2023, under the Indian Presidency of the grouping.

oBelarus is an observer state.

  • Headquarter: Shanghai (China)
  • Focus of SCO: Regional security, counter-terrorism, and economic cooperation among its member states. The organisation covers over 60% of the Eurasian landmass, 40% of the world population, and 30% of global GDP.
  • The main Functions of the SCO are to

oStrengthen relations among member states; 

oPromote cooperation in political affairs, economics and trade, scientific-technical, cultural, and educational spheres as well as in energy, transportation, tourism, and environmental protection;

oSafeguard regional peace, security, and stability; and

oCreate a democratic, equitable international political and economic order.

output themes