SAHITYA AKADEMI AWARDS (Syllabus: GS Paper 1 – Art and Culture)

News-CRUX-10     21st December 2023        
output themes

Context: Tamil author Rajasekaran (Devibharathi), Telugu writer T. Patanjali Sastry and Malayalam writer E.V. Ramakrishnan are among those named for the Sahitya Akademi awards for 2023. 

oNine books of poetry, six novels, five short story collections, three essays and one literary study have won the awards.

Sahitya Akademi

  • Establishment: Instituted in 1954, 
  • Purpose: It is an annual literary honor presented by Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters.
  • Recognition and Awards: Annually, Sahitya Akademi bestows 24 awards on literary works in acknowledged languages, including an equal number for literary translations to and from Indian languages.
  • Inclusive Language Recognition: In addition to the 22 languages outlined in the Indian Constitution, Sahitya Akademi acknowledges English and Rajasthani for the implementation of its programs.
  • Significance and Ranking: The Sahitya Akademi award holds the distinction of being the second-highest literary honor conferred by the Government of India, following the Jnanpith award.

output themes