RWANDA (Syllabus: GS Paper 2 – IR)

News-CRUX-10     8th May 2024        
output themes

Context: British authorities recently deported an asylum seeker to Rwanda under a voluntary returns scheme and began detaining other migrants in readiness for deportations to the East African nation by July.


  • About: Rwanda, officially known as the Republic of Rwanda, is a landlocked nation situated in the Great Rift Valley of Central Africa, where the regions of the African Great Lakes and Southeast Africa intersect. 

o Positioned just a few degrees south of the Equator. 

  • Capital: Kigali.
  • Bordering countries: Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. 
  • Nile River:

o Location: Flows through several countries, including Egypt, Sudan, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Uganda, Congo, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

o Characteristics: The longest river globally, playing a crucial role in the history and development of ancient civilizations.

  • Great Rift Valley: : Extends from Lebanon in Asia to Mozambique in southeastern Africa.
  • Sahara Desert Covers northern Africa, including parts of Algeria, Chad, Egypt, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Sudan, and Tunisia.