PULITZER PRIZE (Syllabus: GS Paper 1 – Awards)

News-CRUX-10     8th May 2024        
output themes

Context: Recently, both The New York Times and The Washington Post each received three Pulitzer Prizes for their 2023 coverage, spanning topics from the Gaza conflict to gun violence.

Pulitzer Prize

  • About: It is an annual award bestowed by Columbia University, New York City, recognizing exceptional public service and achievement in American journalism, letters, and music.
  • Establishment: 1917 
  • Fellowship: $500,000
  • Prestige and Tradition: Highly esteemed awards, conferred each May, symbolizing excellence in various fields since their inception.

Indians Who Have Won the Pulitzer Prize

  • Gobind Behari Lal (1937): First Indian to win the Pulitzer Prize for journalism, affiliated with the Ghadar Party in America.
  • Geeta Anand: In 2002 received Pulitzer Prize as part of The Wall Street Journal staff for Explanatory Reporting on corporate corruption. Her series of reports on healthcare as a lead reporter was a finalist in the 2003 Pulitzer Awards too.
  • Sanghamitra Kalita: Recognized for her role as managing editor of the Los Angeles Times.
  • Siddhartha Mukherjee (2011): Awarded for his work "The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer," offering insights into the complexities of cancer.
  • Channi Anand, Mukhtar Khan, and Dar Yasin (2020): Associated Press photographers, honored in the Feature Photography category for their exceptional work.
  • Danish Siddiqui, Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad   Mattoo, and Amit Dave (2022): Won a Pulitzer in the Feature Photography Category for covering the Covid-19 pandemic in India.
output themes