News-CRUX-10     27th February 2024        

Context: Recently, the Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation presided over a meeting of the Parliamentary Consultative Committee of the Ministry of Home Affairs at Daman.

Parliamentary Consultative Committee

  • About: These committees are constituted by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

oThey are typically formed after the new Lok Sabha is constituted.

oUpon the dissolution of each Lok Sabha, these committees stand dissolved and are reconstituted with the new Lok Sabha.

  • Composition: Guidelines on composition, functions, and procedures are formulated by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.
  • The Ministry organizes meetings during both parliamentary sessions and intersession periods.
  • Members are drawn from: Both Houses of Parliament.
  • Membership: It is voluntary, at the discretion of members and party leaders.
  • Committee size: From a minimum of 10 to a maximum of 30 members.
  • Functions

oThese committees are affiliated with various ministries/departments of the Central Government.

oThe Minister/Minister of State of the relevant ministry chairs the consultative committee.

oThey provide a platform for informal discussions between ministers and Parliament members on government policies and programs.

oConsultative Committees are distinct from Parliamentary Committees, which have specific characteristics and functions:

  • Appointed or elected by the House, nominated by the Speaker/Chairman, Operates under the direction of the Speaker/Chairman, Presents reports to the House or the Speaker/Chairman, Secretariat provided by the Lok Sabha/Rajya Sabha.