PADMA AWARDS (Syllabus: GS Paper 1 – Awards)

News-CRUX-10     16th April 2024        

Context: The Padma Awards ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan is set for April 22, recently informed sources mentioned, following the initial polling phase on April 19, with the Election Commission of India duly notified due to the active model code of conduct.

Padma Awards

  • About: These Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • Categories: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.
  • Who decide: All nominations received for Padma Awards are placed before the Padma Awards Committee.
  • Awarded by: President:

Padma Vibhushan

  • About: It stands as India's second-highest civilian award, trailing only the Bharat Ratna.
  • Instituted on: 2 January 1954
  • Eligibility: All individuals, regardless of race, occupation, position, or gender, are eligible for consideration for the Padma Vibhushan.
  • Exceptions to Eligibility: Government servants, excluding doctors and scientists, along with those employed in Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs), are not eligible for the Padma Vibhushan.

Padma Bhushan

  • About: It is the third-highest civilian award in India, instituted in 1954.
  • Criteria for Award: It is bestowed for distinguished service of a high order to the nation in any field, excluding public sector undertakings.
  • Eligibility: Recipients include individuals from various sectors, including government servants like doctors and scientists.

Padma Shri Awards

  • About: It is the fourth-highest civilian award of the Republic of India after the Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, and the Padma Bhushan.
  • Recognition: contributions in various spheres of activity including the arts, education, industry, and social service, among others.
  • Eligibility: All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.
  • Not Eligible: Government servants including those working with PSUs.