News-CRUX-10     9th July 2024        
output themes

Context: President of India awarded 36 Gallantry Awards to personnel from the Armed Forces, Central Armed Police Forces, and State and Union Territory Police in recognition of their exceptional bravery.

Gallantry Awards

  • About: These are a recognition of acts of courage and self-sacrifice performed by members of the Armed Forces, legally constituted forces, and civilians.
  • Ministry: Ministry of Defence
  • Announced: Twice in a year
  • Categories of Awards: Wartime Gallantry Awards and Peacetime Gallantry Awards.
  • Wartime Gallantry Awards: Param Vir Chakra (PVC), Mahavir Chakra (MVC), and Vir Chakra
  • Peacetime Gallantry Awards: 

o Ashok Chakra: It is awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.

o Kirti Chakra: It is comparable to the Maha Vir Chakra, the second-highest gallantry award awarded during peacetime.

o Shaurya Chakra: An Indian military honor bestowed for acts of gallantry, bravery, or selflessness in situations not involving direct engagement with the enemy.

  • Other Recognitions: Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, and Vayu Sena Medal.

Major facts:

  • All the gallantry awards may be awarded posthumously.
  • Persons recommended for the award shall not be involved in any adverse report or should not have been conveyed any displeasure or censure or given any punishment in a court martial proceedings or through administrative action.

output themes