GALLANTARY AWARDS (Syllabus: GS Paper 1 – Art and Culture)

News-CRUX-10     27th January 2024        

Context: President of India has approved gallantry awards to 80 military personnel, including 12 posthumous, on the eve of 75th Republic Day.

Gallantry Awards

  • About: Gallantry Awards are a recognition of acts of courage and self-sacrifice performed by members of the Armed Forces, legally constituted forces, and civilians.
  • Ministry: Ministry of Defence.
  • Announced: Twice in a year.
  • Categories of Awards: Wartime Gallantry Awards and Peacetime Gallantry Awards.

oWartime Gallantry Awards: Param Vir Chakra (PVC), Mahavir Chakra (MVC), and Vir Chakra

oPeacetime Gallantry Awards: Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra

  • Other Recognitions: Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, and Vayu Sena Medal. 
  • Order of precedence: Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.
  • Major facts:

oAll the gallantry awards may be awarded posthumously.

oPersons recommended for the award shall not be involved in any adverse report or should not have been conveyed any displeasure or censure or given any punishment in a court martial proceedings or through administrative action.