BHARAT RATNA (Syllabus: GS Paper 2 – Awards & Personility in News)

News-CRUX-10     24th January 2024        
output themes

Context: Former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur will be awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously.

Bharat Ratna

  • Establishment: Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, was instituted in the year 1954.
  • Eligibility Criteria: Any person, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex, is eligible for these awards.
  • Recognition for Exceptional Service: The award is granted in recognition of exceptional service or performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor.
  • Recommendations: Recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made directly by the Prime Minister to the President, and no formal recommendations are necessary.
  • Annual Award Limit: The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.
  • Conferment Process: On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
  • Monetary Grant: The award does not carry any monetary grant.
  • Usage Restrictions: In accordance with Article 18(1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient's name.

Karpoori Thakur

  • About: He was an Indian politician who served two terms as the 11th Chief Minister of Bihar.
  • Popularly known as: Jan Nayak
  • Early Life: Karpoori Thakur was born to Gokul Thakur and Ramdulari Devi at Pitaunjhia (now Karpuri Gram) village in Samastipur District of Bihar.
  • Influenced by: Mahatma Gandhi and Satyanarayan Sinha.