QUAD (Syllabus: GS Paper 2– IR)

News-CRUX-10     23rd September 2023        

Context: Recently, on the sidelines of the 78th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), the Foreign Ministers of the Quad reiterated their commitment to a "free and open" Indo-Pacific region, emphasizing the resolution of disputes in accordance with international law.


  • About: It also known as the Quadrilateral Security Dialogue or simply the Quad, is a strategic forum.
  • Countries: United States, Japan, India, and Australia.
  • Aim: To promote regional security and economic cooperation in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • Origin of QUAD Concept: It was initially proposed by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007.
  • First Summit: March 2021.

United Nations General Assembly (UNGA)

  • Establishment: In 1945 under the United Nations (UN) Charter

oThe UNGA is the only UN organ wherein all member states have equal representation.

  • Aim: To create an organization that would facilitate international cooperation and prevent the occurrence of another devastating global conflict. 
  • First Session: October 24, 1945 (United Nations Day)
  • Member States: 193 member states
output themes