LCA MARK 1A (Syllabus: GS Paper 3 – Sci and Tech)

News-CRUX-10     4th October 2023        
output themes

Context: The Indian Air Force (IAF) recently announced its plan to replace all MiG-21 squadrons with the LCA Mark 1A by 2025 as part of its modernization efforts.

LCA Mark 1A

  • Indigenous 4+ Generation Fighter: The Light Combat Aircraft Mk-1A is a cutting-edge 4+ generation fighter aircraft, proudly designed, developed, and manufactured in India.
  • Superiority Over Previous Variants: The Tejas LCA Mk-1A surpasses its predecessors in avionics, performance, and weapons capabilities, making it a formidable addition to the Indian Air Force.
  • Advanced Operational Capabilities: This aircraft boasts crucial operational features including an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) Radar, Beyond Visual Range (BVR) Missile capability, Electronic Warfare (EW) Suite, and Air to Air Refuelling (AAR) capability.
  • Various BVR Missiles: It is highly adaptable, allowing for seamless hardware and software integration to accommodate a variety of Beyond Visual Range (BVR) missiles available in the Indian Air Force's inventory.


  • These aircraft are single-engine, single-seater multi-role fighter/ground attack planes.
  • India has acquired more than 700 MiG-21 aircraft of various variants over the years, including the Type-77, Type-96, and the BIS.
  • The most recent variant is the MiG-21 Bison, featuring upgrades like advanced missiles, radars, and improved avionics.
output themes