KAVLI PRIZE (Syllabus GS Paper 1 – Awards)

News-CRUX-10     15th June 2024        
output themes

Context: The winners of the 2024 Kavli Prize were recently announced, honoring eight individuals for their groundbreaking contributions to astrophysics, neuroscience, and nanoscience. 

Kavli Prize

  • About: It is awarded in honour of Norwegian-American businessman and philanthropist Fred Kavli (1927-2013).
  • Awarded in three areas: Astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience — the largest, the smallest, and the most complex.
  • Prize: $1 million cash prize (per field), a scroll, and a medal.

oUS-based Kavli Foundation, the prize is given in partnership with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

  • Selection Criteria: Three independent selection committees review entries to present a unanimous recommendation to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. 
  • Each committee comprises five members, who are nominated by science institutes around the world.
  • Campare with Nobel: Nobel Prize is only awarded for achievements made “during the preceding year”. But the Kavli Prize does not operate under such a restriction.
  • Winners in 2024: Astrophysics - David Charbonneau. Nanoscience - Robert Langer and Chad Mirkin, Neuroscience - Nancy Kanwisher and Doris Tsao.