HOYSALA TEMPLES (Syllabus: GS Paper 1 – Art & Culture)

News-CRUX-10     25th September 2023        
output themes

Context: Three Hoysala-era temples in Karnataka were recently added to UNESCO's World Heritage List as part of the collective entry called 'Sacred Ensembles of the Hoysalas'.

Chennakeshava Temple – Belur

  • About: It is also referred to as the Vijayanarayana Temple of Belur.
  • It is a 12th-century Hindu temple in Karnataka.
  • Commissioned by: King Vishnuvardhana in 1117 CE, on the banks of the Yagachi River in Belur also called Velapura, an early Hoysala Empire capital.
  • Devoted to: Lord Vishnu.

Hoysaleshwara Temple- Halebid

  • About: This temple referred to simply as the Halebidu temple is a 12th-century Hindu temple Dedicated to: Lord Shiva.
  • The temple was built in 1121 CE during the reign of the Hoysala King, Vishnuvardhana Hoysaleshwara.
  • Famous for: More than 240 wall sculptures that run all along the outer wall.

Keshava Temple- Somanathapura

  • This is a Vaishnava temple on the banks of River Kaveri at Somanathapura, Karnataka.
  • The temple was consecrated in 1258 CE by Somanatha Dandanayaka, a general of the Hoysala King Narasimha III.


    • Formation: 1945, is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris.
    • Objective: It works to achieve peace and security by promoting international collaboration through educational, scientific, and cultural reforms.
    • Members: 195 member states and 10 associate members. India is a founding member of the Organization.
    • Headquarters: Paris, France.