UPPER YAMUNA RIVER BOARD (UYRB) (Syllabus: GS Paper 2 – Polity-Inter-state river dispute)

News-CRUX-10     14th June 2024        

Context: The Supreme Court has entrusted the Upper Yamuna River Board (UYRB) with addressing Delhi's drinking water crisis, citing a lack of expertise in navigating the complex and sensitive issue of Yamuna water sharing among signatory states to a 20-year-old Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

Upper Yamuna River Board (UYRB)

  • About: It is a subordinate office under Department of Water Resources, RD & GR, Ministry of Jal Shakti, Government of India.
  • Board Member: The Board shall consist of Member, Central Water Commission as part time Chairman and one nominee each from the States of Utter Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, and National Capital Territory of Delhi.

oThe Board shall have a full time Member-Secretary who does not belong to beneficiary states.

  • Review Committee: It comprises the Chief Ministers (or Governors during President's Rule) of Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

oThe committee is chaired by the Hon’ble Minister of Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Government of India.

oPurpose: To assess the functioning of the Upper Yamuna River Board (UYRB).

  • Functions:

oAllocation of Flows: The Board's primary function is to regulate the allocation of available water flows among the beneficiary States and monitor the return flows.

oWater Quality Management: It monitors, conserves, and enhances the quality of both surface and groundwater within the basin.

oProject Monitoring: The Board reviews and monitors the progress of all projects, including those up to and including the Okhla barrage, to ensure they meet defined objectives.

oTelemetry System Implementation: To enhance monitoring capabilities, the Board has initiated the installation of a telemetry system. This system will enable real-time observation and dissemination of flow data across 11 locations within the basin.

oMinimum Flow Regulations: In line with ecological considerations and regulatory mandates, the Board ensures that a minimum flow, currently set at 10 cumec downstream of Hathnikund Barrage and Okhla Headworks, is maintained throughout the year.