APRA 2014 (Syllabus: GS Paper 2– Polity)

News-CRUX-10     10th June 2024        

Context: Recent political analyses highlight the TDP's long-standing efforts to secure Special Category Status for Andhra Pradesh to offset revenue losses post-2014 bifurcation, while Telangana's Chief Minister Revanth Reddy urges resolution of lingering issues from the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act.

Constitutional Provisions

  • Article 2: Parliament may by law admit new States into the Union or establish new States on terms and conditions it deems appropriate.
  • Article 3: A new State can be formed by separating territory from an existing State, uniting two or more States or parts of States, or adding territory to a part of any State.
  • Increase in State Area
  • Diminution of State Area
  • Alteration of State Boundaries
  • Change of State Names

Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 (APRA)

  • About: The act provides for the reorganisation of the state of Andhra Pradesh.  It carves out a separate state called Telangana comprising 10 districts of the existing state of Andhra Pradesh.
  • Formation of Telangana: To create the new state of Telangana by carving it out of the existing state of Andhra Pradesh. Telangana officially came into existence on June 2, 2014.
  • Common Capital: The act designated Hyderabad as the common capital of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for a period of ten years, during which time Telangana was required to establish a new capital city.
  • Role of Governor: The Governor of the existing state of Andhra Pradesh shall be the common Governor for both states for a period determined by the President.
  • Special Provisions: The act contained special provisions to safeguard the interests of various groups, including the allocation of seats in educational institutions and government jobs for people from different regions.
  • Division of Assets and Liabilities: It outlined the division of assets, liabilities, and resources between the two states, including the allocation of river waters and the division of government employees.
  • Representation in Parliament: After the bifurcation, Andhra Pradesh will have 11 seats in Rajya Sabha, and Telangana will have 7.  In Lok Sabha, Andhra Pradesh will have 25 seats and Telangana will have 17 seats.
  • Revenue Distribution: The resources allocated by the 13th Finance Commission to the existing state of Andhra Pradesh will be apportioned between the two successor states on the basis of population ratio and other parameters.  The centre may make grants to the successor state of Andhra Pradesh.
output themes